What happens to data when types are renamed

#1

What happens to the data when I create a type and load it… and then decide on the next provision to rename the type? Does the platform detect that the old type is no longer used and purge the data automatically?

Is there a way to see in the platform that the space previously occupied by the type was released?

Thanks

Paul

0 Likes

#2

The type system uses the “schema name” of a type to map it to a table. If the new type has the same “schema name” as the old type, then the new type will be mapped to the old table.

No space occupied by old types is ever released

1 Like