Autoscaling logic

What is the autoscaling logic? Do we have our own logic or we use Amazon’s? Can I add workers when autoscaling is on? if not, why?

I am not an expert, but as far as I know we look at the number of events in non-paused queues. If the backlog crosses a certain threshold (I believe it’s 500 by default), we spin up more capacity, up to maxWorkerNodes configuration parameter.

You can manually add more workers when autoscaling is on (provided that you have permissions to do so). Those workers won’t auto-shutdown when the processing is complete, so there’s a risk of idling the workers.

The platform autoscaling will shutdown workers down to minWorkerNodes when the number of running and pending requests in the active queues gores down to 0.

Do you know the exact logic for determining the number of workers necessary to scale up? Once the elements in queues exceeds that threshold does it simple spin up workers until you’re at maxWorkerNodes or is there some incremental/smart scaling going on?

WRT to the threshold, do you know if that is configurable? Not all elements in the queues process at the same speed…

Help us @rileysiebel/@DavidT/@amit.salunke, you’re our only hope…

No smart scaling, just an on/off switch.

Threshold is configurable I believe, it’s a cluster configuration option. Need cluster admin rights for that.

So you’re saying that the cluster will go from Min --> Max as soon as the “threshold” of work is surpassed? Theres no incremental scaling?

Correct. There’s a bit of delay between worker creation, but they are ramped up from min to max as soon as the threshold is met.

This is really good info. Thanks everyone.
How long does the threshold have to be exceeded before the next batch of workers gets automatically spun up?

Background